Believe

My Christmas story Believe is here!


Believe

He was eighteen years old and still believed in Father Christmas. True, people said he was a bit strange, he read a lot of books and was known to play WoW, CS and such. And RPG's. What sane person played RPG's? And he had no friends at school (don't know if he had any somewhere else), but was in the library most of the time, when he wasn't playing teacher's pet at lessons. It was there I found him, around a fortnight before Christmas.

   I spent a lot of time in the library, too, studying for the exams, but I do have a few friends. This sunny Wednesday I went to the library at lunch break, and there he was, standing in front of a shelf and scanning the backs of the history books. He half-glanced at me, a blush creeping up his cheeks. I took no notice, but merely put my book bag on a free table beside the window. But, - shit! - I needed a book about the Napoleon Wars, which was why I was here. He took my approach as an invitation to speak.

   "Hi Liza", he said, half-looking at me. His eyes were brown.

   "Hi", I said, studying the shelves without looking at him. "Could you please move a bit? I need a book over there."

   He stepped aside, now gazing straight at my back. I tried to ignore it, but he was making me slightly sweaty and it was like having a fly on my neck. I took the book I needed and was about to get back to my table, when he spoke again.

   "My name is Kim", he said, holding out his hand. After a moment's hesitation, I shook it, and of some reason unknown to me, he followed me to my table. When I buried myself in my papers and books, he did nothing but stare at me, his hand resting on the table. When I looked up, he was still staring at me. I started to read and write again, but now I reread the same paragraph again and again, and couldn't finish my sentences before I got lost.

   "So", I said, giving up at last, "how'll you spend your Christmas?"

   He shrugged and blushed. "At home, I suppose. I hope Father Christmas will come." Kim finally lowered his gaze, to see his finger follow a carved-in name in the wood. Now I was staring at him.

   "So you hope Father Christmas will come?" I said. "Have you sent him a wish list, yet? Or are you doing it soon?"

   "Father Christmas actually knows what we wish, and what we need, we don't really need to send him wish lists", Kim said matter-of-factly, meeting my eyes. They had a very calm brown shade. "What do you want for Christmas?"

   "A guy in his right mind." I rose and took my book bag, striding out of the library.


I did not see Kim again until the day before Christmas break, when we ran into each other outside my last Biology class. He dropped a book on my foot. A very heavy book.

   "Ouch!"

   "Sorry! I'm really sorry, Liza!" He hurried to take up the book and said to the floor. "I didn't see you! Does it hurt much?"

   "Yes!" I had tears in my eyes as I massaged my foot, glaring at his mousy-brown neck. "Why are you hurrying? Going to meet Father Christmas?"

   Kim blushed as he straightened up. "Father Christmas comes at Christmas. He told me he would come this year. You could meet him too, if you want."

   "No thanks, I meet old men disguised as Father Christmas every day, now", I said coolly. "Are you saying hello to all of them?"

   "No!" Kim's colour darkened. "They aren't real! I mean, they are real, but not the real Father Christmas."

   "Who are you meeting then?"

   Kim blinked. "Father Christmas."

   I rolled my eyes, making Kim looking funny at me, his head slightly tilted. "If you come to my house six o'clock at Christmas Eve, you will see him. So, what do you say?"

   I stood unmoving for a moment, left hand on the hip and eyes fixed on him. "Ok", I said at last. "But if you are playing with me somehow, you'll pay."

   I turned my back at him and marched away with a slight limp.


Christmas Eve that year was a Christmas-card like one, with a dark starry sky, glittering white roofs and apple-cheeked people outside calling "Merry Christmas!" to everybody. It was nearly six o'clock and I was hurrying to Kim's house, which was standing right behind the church.

   I panted slightly when I reached his gates, my breath looked like smoke and the snow crunched crisply under my feet. Kim was already outside, his face lit up when he saw me.

   "So, you came", he said, the corners of his lips twisting into a shy smile.

   "Apparently." I took a deep breath, hands on my knees. "I like to prove people wrong."

   Kim did not answer, he merely shrugged and looked up into the sky. Silently we waited, the wind biting our faces. I shivered.

   "Where are your parents?" I asked, breaking the silence. I hated silence. Silence is empty. Kim startled. He seemed to like silence.

   "Away", he said. "They are always gone at Christmas Eve."

   Then he fell quiet. I couldn't think of what to say. My parents and sisters had not wanted me to go out, even if I said it was only for a short time. The waiting silence returned, and this time, I did not dare to break it. After a moment, however, the church's bell chimed six, and Kim suddenly tilted his head, rather like a dog, as though he had heard something.

   "Listen", he said, staring into the night. I listened, but could hear nothing.

   "Listen to what?"

   "Father Christmas' sleigh bells. He's coming."

   I frowned at him. "I don't hear anything but the wind."

   He shook his head. "You have to listen. Really listen."

   I listened, but could not hear any sleigh bells, or a car door for that matter. It was dead silence.

   "The sound is getting stronger", Kim said, an intense gleam in his eyes. "Listen!"

   I listened. I listened so hard I thought I heard the faintest chime of bells. I frowned and listened even more. The bells were coming nearer.

   "There!" Kim pointed up in the sky, behind the church tower. I gasped. A sleigh flow in the air, dragged by reindeers. I stared in bewilderment as they landed and the coachman climbed out. He was a huge man, thickset, with a long and wavy white beard. Gentle eyes twinkled merrily behind the glasses on his big nose, a kind smile almost hidden behind the beard. He was dressed in a red cap and coat with a belt that nearly dug into his vast belly. He gave me a merry wink when he reached us.

   "Father Christmas", I whispered, rather faintly, and he chuckled.

   "That's me! And you are Liza."

   I nodded, mute, and Father Christmas turned to Kim. They hugged.

   "Kim, my old friend! How are you?"

   "Never better", said Kim, beaming, "the best time is now."

   Father Christmas laughed. "You are so right, and I have a gift to you, something for your role-playing."

   It was a red Father Christmas-dress. Kim laughed and putted it in front of him, as Father Christmas turned to me. I suppose he caught me rolling my eyes.

   "You don't like role-playing, Liza? Kim does, and that's all that matter." I blushed. "I'm giving a gift to you too, and a piece of advise. Believe; believe in yourself and in other people. Who knows, they can have right in their beliefs." My colour darkened, as he gave me a small parcel. Inside was a necklace, with the word Believe carved in.

   "Believe", I said. "Why just believe? I want proof."

   I looked up to Father Christmas, but he was gone.

   "Where is he?" I said, looking around. Kim shrugged.

   "It's Christmas Eve, so I suppose he's busy", he said. "So, you have just seen Father Christmas. Do you believe in him now?"

   "I suppose...", I hesitated, but could not find the right words. "When did you meet him? For the first time?"

   Kim shrugged. "I was eight. My parents had left me home for Christmas for a friend's party. He came and gave me a hug, and told me I wasn't alone - he was there. And he always says to me to do what I want to do, without caring for other people's opinion."

   "Like mine?"

   He nodded, a faint smile played on his lips. It was actually quite nice lips. "You don't believe in anything, do you?"

   "I believe in hard work. What do you believe in?"

   "You."

   Our eyes met, really met, for the first time. A shiver went down my spine and I breathed faster.

   "Me?" I tried to sound casual. Don't know if I managed that "Why me?"

   "Because you need it." His smile widened. "You don't believe in anything."

   "Oh, should I believe in you, then?" I looked away and crossed my arms.

   "No need for that", he said, softly. "I have everything I need and want. So, what are you doing now?"

   I looked down at the necklace, and then up in the sky. Was it my imagination, or could I hear Father Christmas' warm chuckle? I smiled at Kim.

   "I'll believe."



What do you think?

Sara

Kommentarer
Postat av: Anonym

hihi kyssen saknas ju i slutet ;)

2009-01-01 @ 17:19:41
Postat av: Anonym

hihi kyssen saknas ju i slutet ;)

2009-01-01 @ 17:20:26
Postat av: Malin

Gapar

Saknar ord. En klyscha, men du är så sjukt bra på att skriva...... Du MÅSTE göra någonting av det. Böcker, och gärna filmer utav böckerna. Det här såg jag framför mig som en film, men då ska den göras längre såklart.



GRYMT!!!

2009-01-21 @ 11:53:11
URL: http://bloggtjej.blogg.se/

Kommentera inlägget här:

Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress: (publiceras ej)

URL/Bloggadress:

Kommentar:

Trackback
RSS 2.0